Not so sweet 16

Today’s daily prompt Sweet Sixteen says: “When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?”

I moved here to Ridgecrest about one month before my 16th birthday. Things were already going badly with my new stepfather, his abusive tendencies, uncaring nature, and just plain lazy nature, were already starting to show. My mom was beginning the downward mental/emotional spiral she took due to the abuse, leaning on me heavily to get through day to day routines after school, etc. After I moved here and then turned sixteen, things only became worse.

At sixteen I did not know what my life would look like now, but I was very pessimistic about my future. I did not think my future would turn out well at all. I once held a conversation with djmatticus about the teenage us vs. the adult us. He was talking about how teenage years were full of hope about the future. I told him that was not my teenage years, I held no hope for the future. I saw only darkness.

Now, compare that to where I am now. Things aren’t  too bad really, they could be better, I have made a few decisions the last couple of years that have made things tight financially, but this life is certainly livable. I have good friends that are more family than friends, a good job, a cool car, a tiny run down apartment that is comfortbly worn in, food in my tiny fridge, a wonderful girlfriend, etc. It’s a simple life, I’m always broke, but I am better off than many. I am certainly in a better place than I thought I was going to be in 15 years ago.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Not so sweet 16

  1. I’m still stuck on the 15 years ago part. How has it been that long? When our birthdays roll around this year we will have been driving legally for half our lives. We graduated from high school 14 years ago this year. Where did the time go? Where will be 15 years from now? I’ll have a kid in high school… How utterly crazy is that.

    • No joke. We should do a joint birthday celebration again this year, like old times. Unless it will be too rough, considering your impending parenthood :)

      • Could probably arrange a shendig like the good ol’ days. Depending on how long I take off, might actually be easier to plan and get a good date than in years past. We shall see.

      • I would be happy with just kicking back in your or my back yard, with a beer and a grill.

      • beer, check; grill, check; kicking back, put it on the calendar

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

